FoodSaver FM5480 2-in-1 Food Preservation System

Details

FM5480-026
Foodsaver FM5480-026 New https://www.foodsaver.com/on/demandware.static/-/Sites-master-catalog/default/dwc2190e5e/images/highres/FM5480-026_01.jpg
209.99 USD
$209.99
Availability: 

This item is currently not available online.

Product Actions

Add to cart options

Promotions

100 FRESHBUCKS FOR EVERY $1


Product Details

The FoodSaver® FM5000 Series 2-in-1 Vacuum Sealing System has new features like express bag maker, PulseVac, and vacuum view window.

Included Items

  • • 1 - 11” x 10’ vacuum seal roll
  • • 5 - 1 quart vacuum seal bags
  • • 6 - 1 quart vacuum zipper bags
  • • 5 - 1 gallon vacuum zipper bags
  • • 1 - wine stopper
  • • 1 - lunch & leftover container

Product Specifications

  • • Dimensions: 7.41" H x 16.23" W x 7.80" D
  • • Weight: 10.4 lbs
  • • Wattage: 126w
  • • Automation: Automatic
  • • Cord Length: 30”

Compatible Products

See More...

Additional Information

With newly designed features, the FoodSaver FM5480 2-in-1 Food Preservation System makes it easier than ever to keep food fresh up to 5x longer (compared to ordinary storage methods) and save up to $2700 per year (based on buying in bulk, buying on sale, and preventing waste). It reduces bag-making steps by 50%, taking the time and guesswork out of bag making and sealing, along with reducing over 30% of roll waste when compared to previous FoodSaver Food Preservation Systems. Plus, the system provides 2-in-1 versatility for freezer, fridge, and pantry storage.
  • Keep food fresh in the freezer up to 5x longer and in the fridge or pantry up to 2x longer, compared to ordinary storage methods
  • Reduces bag-making steps by 50%, taking the time and guesswork out of bag making and sealing, along with reducing over 30% of roll waste when compared to previous FoodSaver Food Preservation Systems
  • PulseVac™ allows manual start and stop to control air removal, helping to seal delicate foods without crushing them
  • Handheld sealer seals FoodSaver zipper bags, canisters, and containers, and marinates food in minutes
  • The Vacuum View Window enables you to see where you seal for optimal control and reduces over 30% of roll waste when compared to previous FoodSaver Food Preservation Systems
  • The Lower Seal and Cut Bar automatically create a seal, making batch sealing and bulk storage faster and easier
  • Starter Kit includes (1) 11” x 10’ vacuum seal roll, (5) 1-quart vacuum seal bags, (6) 1-quart vacuum zipper bags, (5) 1-gallon vacuum zipper bags, (1) wine stopper, and (1) lunch & leftover container
FoodSaver FM5480 2-in-1 Food Preservation System is rated 3.1 out of 5 by 45.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Essiential small kitchen appliance. I use this almost everyday! It is great for keeping lunchmeat fresher in the fridge and making and freezing dinners. Can now buy in bulk and save on food bills. I love it! Showed my daughter how to use it...now she wants one!
Date published: 2019-11-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from food saver 5480 I had and older food saver and like it really will as mine was getting older I bought me a new one and gave my old one to my daughter and she likes it a lot so I'm going to get her a new one for Christmas. It will save you money in the long run.
Date published: 2019-11-02
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Seals well The sealer is somewhat difficult to get the bag into position. Seals well when all is working.Need to put a platform in front of the unit to level the bag to make it easier to position the bag. The downfall of the unit is that the gaskets are not replaceable. We had the unit less than 3 years and it stopped sealing. the company is sending a 1 time replacement. Is it going to happen again in another 2 years or so. the model is fm5480. I would not recommend this unit.
Date published: 2019-05-01
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Difficult Vacuum Area The vacuum area is just not feasable. It looks good but is not practical in everyday use. You have to hold the bag up higher or cut a significant amount extra on the bag to reach the vacuum area. Then you have to press both left AND right vacuum buttons at the same time which can be difficult when trying to hold the bag in the exact sweet spot for vacuuming. It becomes even more difficult when trying to vacuum oversized bags that overlap. Anyone who is familiar with these machines knows that any wrinkles or gaps in the bag will not work so trying to hold the bag perfectly, without wrinkles, and in the same area, while simultaneously pushing two buttons on seperate sides of the machine is just not realistic. All the other features work great but the difficulty of this machine vs the price makes this a non-recommendation for me. This is my 3rd food saver and honestly, it's always something with their products. I finally had enough and this one went in the trash can. I only wish better vacuum sealers were more competetive and accessible with their products but then I guess you get what you pay for...and this wasn't cheap.
Date published: 2019-02-05
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Does not last I received my FoodSaver FM5480 3 years ago for a Christmas present. I have used it less than a dozen times. I am still using the original bag roll that was supplied with the unit. It no longer sucks the air out of the bag. This is my second generation FoodSaver that I have owned. I had an original model that lasted five years before it wouldn’t vacuum seal 100%. I figured after five years and heavy usage it was time for a new unit. I am SO disappointed with the FoodSaver. I don’t know if this is an issue related to this model specifically but I couldn’t find anything online that would support this theory. I have an entirely unused box of food bags that I bought in anticipation of using my FoodSaver that will now collect dust. I was a loyal supporter of the FoodSaver but can’t recommend it at this point.
Date published: 2019-01-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing Features!! Bought one for a friend for a house warming gift and loved using it at their house so much had to buy myself one! Loved the handheld sealer! Very convenient for the zipper bags (which are my favorite)!!!
Date published: 2018-12-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Can't find a new blade for this great machine, blade wore out after a few months. I use it a lot.
Date published: 2018-11-10
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Love the features of this machine. I've only used it once so far, but my items are now sealed and in the freezer, it was a little tricky making sure I had the bag edge lined up for the vacuum sealer process, but after a few attempts I got the hang of it.
Date published: 2018-11-10
Rated 1 out of 5 by from worst food saver As you can see from the pictures the seal mechanism is very high. I could not hold the food up in the air and then push the buttons. While holding it in the air the bags would not lie in the sealer straight and therefore not seal. I ended up putting the bag on a stand. It still does not always vacuum. I hate it.
Date published: 2018-11-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from So convenient and easy to use I bought this to replace a very old, no frills model that was starting to wear out. Absolutely love the automatic bag maker, and still the other features. I use this daily!
Date published: 2018-10-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect for us We have been Food Saver owners for a number of years. This is our 3rd unit -- a definite upgrade from our earlier models. The earlier ones worked great but this new one allows us more vacuum seal options. And it requires less counter space. My only complaint with Food Saver is that there are so many model numbers that it makes it hard to figure out what unit is the right one for us. But this one is great. Does everything we want it to do -- canisters, wine bottles, bags, stores the bags, etc.
Date published: 2018-10-25
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Not what it's cracked up to be and sounds worse i've had my foodsaver and bought one for my granddaughter-in-law and my grandson apparently is the one who loves it the most their's works great -- me personally i like my old one that works much easier and faster. got this one for the pulse action which i can do on my older model anyway. bulky and hard to place bag correctly and have to hit both sides of the bar it's a mess my old one at least automatically senses the bag. Asked for a refund but i have to pay shipping sending it back when i've purchased 3 machines from Foodsaver NOT A HAPPY CAMPER that's for sure.
Date published: 2018-10-02
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good It’s ok. Slow sealing bowls and jars. It seals fine. Wish it were free.
Date published: 2018-09-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Bought this month, works great with bags,haven't tried jars yet.
Date published: 2018-09-13
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Not happy... vacuum didn’t remove air I purchased this model a year ago and used it once successfully to bag and freeze about 5 pounds of fish that I caught out fishing with friends. I used it once again to bag and freeze an even smaller amout of game. It then sat on a shelf for an entire year. I usually use it only for fish and game because i’m the only one who eats it and never know how long it will be before I prepare it. So I went fishing with friends about 3 days ago... pulled out my FoodSaver. I was in a rush to get out of town and even made my wife leave and drive separate with our children to another city and hour and a half away because i knew we would be out of town for a couple of days and if I didn’t make time to bag it then it would sit in the fridge until I got back. This meant we paid double for parking and all the extra gas. But I hate to let food spoil, woke up at 3 am the day I left to go fishing, paid a premium to fish it and drove an hour and a half to the same city to get to the marina on time, spend a whole day away from work to catch it. As soon as I began to vacuum it would not remove air from the bags. I called customer service and the women I spoke to asked me a few questions and then placed me on hold. After coming back on the phone she told me that it wouldn’t vacuum because I was trying to vacuum and seal wet raw meat and I needed to use the liquid block vacuum seal bags. So... the following day I went to the store and purchased them. I then attempted it again... unsuccessfully. Mind you... i’m a pretty smart guy. I’ve read other people’s reviews and actually disagree with those who claim it’s difficult to understand the instructions. They’re actually pretty straightforward. The part that frustrates me is that now that I’ve unsuccessfully attempted the liquid lock bags it happens to be Sunday and customer service doesn’t take calls. I caught my fish 3 days ago and it’s still in the fridge. It’s going in standard freezer bags in a second until I figure out my next step. If you’d ask me if I would recommend a FoodSaver vacuum sealer presently my answer is no.
Date published: 2018-09-10
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Great Machine with Minor Issues I purchased the FM5860 about a year ago (tried to leave a review on that page, but I can't find a place to leave one, and this one looks exactly the same but without the bonus items) after my in-laws decided to keep the V3425 that my parents gave me. I irregularly use the foodsaver to seal prepackaged foods, hold shelf-stable items, and marinate meats. I thought that it was very innovative that I could have a select-a-size option on my bags so I'm not wasteful. However, the fact that the vacuum sealer is in the middle is a little bit of a hindrance; because I have to manually hold the bag to the machine, I cannot always get the bag to lie as flat as it needs and I usually cannot put it down after it has started or it will have issues sealing. The catching tray also does not catch all of the liquid that comes out from juicy foods and is decently inconvenient to pull out to clean in/around. I also like the retractable cord on top of the vacuum sealer so that I can seal small containers and marinate meat without having to dig through drawers to attach the proper extensions as I did before - it is very convenient. The only minor issue I have is that the machine is not heavy enough to have the retractable cord where it is placed. I often find myself having to push the machine back after using the extension. This may be because I am pulling towards me instead of straight up due to my kitchen setup, but an issue for me nonetheless.
Date published: 2018-08-20
Rated 3 out of 5 by from My old V3020 was more reliable. Bought this in Oct 2017 thought it would be a good upgrade. I love the lower sealer it has allowed me to waste less making custom size bags but that's about the only thing I'm enjoying about it. I use this a lot for sous vide. The vacuum seems to work fine however it runs forever and sometimes overflows the tray because it never starts sealing. And then its 50/50 whether it will actually be sealed or not half the time there is a small area that isn't sealed. Its not consistent on where the 'leak' is so don't think its a bad spot on the heating element. And yes the bags were flat. It has definitely made me less likely to 'upgrade' at some point.
Date published: 2018-08-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Really like this vacuum Sealer I picked this one up when it was on sale. I have an older one that still works fine, but I just wanted an upgrade and this fit the need well. I have had no issues with it as of yet and I doubt I will if it is like my last one. The only issue I have ever had is the bag cutter getting dull. This unit is easy to use and works pretty fast, not quite as fast as my old one when sealing containers and I think it is due to the design of this one. The lid has to come down and it needs to suck the air out of the unit before it can take it out of the container. Still, I really like it and would recommend it to a friend.
Date published: 2018-07-29
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Awesome machine...at first This foodsaver was awesome at first and then died after 8 months of occasional usage. Avoid this money waster!!
Date published: 2018-07-22
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Do not buy Vacuum pump works but no matter what I do doesn't vacuum air out of bag, tried everything manual said. Bad buy!
Date published: 2018-06-20
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Quit working after only 6 months?! We loved this - until it died a mere 6 months after buying it. Just like many of the other reviews, it stopped vacuuming and even though it is under warranty, we have to pay to ship it back. Being our first Foodsaver, I just don't know if it is worth the cost and effort to ship it back and hope the refurb we get in exchange will be any better. It seems as though MANY people have had this same issue. Very disappointing to say the least.
Date published: 2018-06-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this model!! I have one already and love it so much I bought my son one for his birthday. He’s used mine and this was the only thing he asked for.
Date published: 2018-06-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome product I have used this product for years and bought a new one for the pulse feature to prolong the life of lettuce.
Date published: 2018-05-23
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Same experience - quits vacuuming This is my third Foodsaver vacuum sealer. The others were great and used a lot without a problem. After a few uses, this one quit vacuuming. It would vacuum a little and then quit! A total piece of junk IMHO. When I contacted the company I was told to box it up and send it to them - at my expense! So much for their warranty. After reading these reviews, it appears the non vacuuming is a problem they are aware of!
Date published: 2018-04-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Small seal line, fast sealer This is my fourth vacuum sealer and by far the best. Makes a smaller seal strip and will accept a once used bag where the edge has started to curl.
Date published: 2018-04-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Foodsaver ever I've owned 4 Foodsavers and this one actually was a warranty replacement for another model that was no longer available. I confess I hated it at first but that was because I hadn't mastered the technique needed to begin sealing. Once I learned how to press down on the bar while holding the open end of the bag flat (so simple that now I have no idea what I was doing wrong) the ease of use and lack of wasted roll material made this a winner. The accessory hose does not seem to have as much vacuum as my previous sealers but I hardly ever use that function these days. Now I had to say below I got this for free but that is not accurate because it was a warranty replacement item and I sure paid full price for the other FoodSaver.
Date published: 2018-03-27
Rated 1 out of 5 by from This is a piece of garbage! I've bought 2 of these from Costco. 1st one did not work out of the box (that should have been my sign). Took it back and got a 2nd one. Used it to seal about 10 packages of meat and it worked fine. Just pulled it out of the pantry (after a few months of non-use) to seal some more meats and it will not vacuum seal at all. A complete waste of money!!
Date published: 2018-03-20
Rated 3 out of 5 by from great when it works I finally got this at Costco. when it works it's totally awesome. I thought i was holding it wrong or something, but I realized that other people are having the same issue. It sometimes doesn't vacuum. Is there a reason or is it a defect on my machine?
Date published: 2018-03-20
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I love it! I bought 2 of these machines this year. Why 2? Because I love it so much I bought one for my son! Perfect for saving grocery money and so much less waste.
Date published: 2018-03-08
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Poor Value Bought this thing not long ago and now it does not function at all. Would never buy one of these again.
Date published: 2018-03-05
  • y_2020, m_2, d_25, h_13
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.5
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_2, tr_43
  • loc_en_US, sid_FM5480-026, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_foodsaver